Wigan Athletic Info

Some general information about Wigan Athletic Football Club, the Team we are proud to be the Official Supporters Club for.

Founded: 1932 following the demise of Wigan Borough FC

Ground: DW Stadium (formerly JJB Stadium), Wigan – Capacity 25,135

Phone Number: 01942 774000
Club Shop: 01942 770450
Ticket Hotline: 01942 311111

I have set up a picture gallery so that you can see pictures of our old home, Springfield Park and a page of photos of the DW Stadium.

Who’s Who at the Club:

Executive Chairman Talal Al Hammad
Chief Executive Mal Brannigan
Non-Executive Director Thomas Markham
Non-Executive Director Oliver Gottman
Non-Executive Director Kevin Roberts
Manager Leam Richardson
Assistant Manager James Beattie
First Team Coach Rob Kelly
Goalkeeping Coach Daryl Flahavan
Head of Medical Andrew Procter
Club Doctor Dr. Jonathan Tobin
Head of Sport Science Nick Meace
Head of Commercial Greg Coar
Head of Football Administration Sarah Guilfoyle
Head of Football Operations Chris Brass
Head of Digital and Communications Ashley Houghton
Operations Manager Andy Birch
Ticket Office Manager Michael Joliffe
Head of HR & Safeguarding Louise Kerrigan
DW Stadium Safety Officer Geoff Parker
Head of Community Trust Tom Flower
Head Groundsman Ian Forshaw



FA Cup Winners 2012-13
League Cup Finalists 2005-06

Northern Premier League Champions 1970-71, 1974-75
Northern Premier Cup Winners 1971-72
Northern Premier Shield Winners 1972-73, 1973-74, 1975-76
Cheshire League Champions 1933-34, 1934-35, 1935-36, 1964-65
Lancashire Combination Champions 1947-48, 1950-51, 1952-53, 1953-54
Elected to Football League 1978
First League Game August 1978

Promoted to Third Division 1981-82
Freight Rover Trophy Winners 1984-85
Third Division Champions 1996-97
Autowindscreens Shield Winners
Second Division Champions 2002-03
League One Champions
2015-16, 2017-18, 2019-20, 2021-22
Promoted to the Premier League as Championship runners-up 2005
Highest position in Premier League
10th 2005-06


Biggest League Victory: 7-0 v Oxford United, League One, 23 Dec 2017
Biggest Defeat: 1-9 v Tottenham Hotspur, Premier League, 22 Nov 2009
Most Appearances: 621 Ian Gillibrand
Most Consecutive League Appearances: 147 Jimmy Bullard – between January 2003 and November 2005
Most League Appearances: 317 Kevin Langley
Most League Goals in aggregate: 70 Andy Liddell
Highest Attendance: 27,526 v Hereford United, FA Cup, 12 Dec 1953
Highest Attendance at JJB: 25,133 v Man United, Premier League, 11 May 2008
Most Points in a season: 100 (2002-2003) Division 2
Most League Goals in one season: 89 (2017-2018) League One
Most League Goals by one player: 31 Graeme Jones (1996-1997)
Record Transfer Fee Paid £6.5 million to Newcastle United for Charles N’Zogbia, 2009
Record Transfer Fee Received £ 16 million from Manchester United for Luis Antonio Valencia, 2009

Managers in the Football League:



1978-1981 Ian McNeill
1981-1983 Larry Lloyd
1983-1985 Harry McNally
1985-1986 Bryan Hamilton
1986-1989 Ray Mathias
1989-1993 Bryan Hamilton
1993 Dave Philpotts
1993-1994 Kenny Swain
1994-1995 Graham Barrow
1995-1998 John Deehan
1998-1999 Ray Mathias
1999-2000 John Benson
2000-2001 Bruce Rioch
2001 Steve Bruce
2001-2007 Paul Jewell
2007 Chris Hutchings
2007-2009 Steve Bruce
2009 to 2013 Roberto Martinez
2013 Owen Coyle
2013-2014 Uwe Rosler
2014to 2015 Malky McKay
2015 to 2016 Gary Caldwell
2016 to 2017 Warren Joyce
2017 to 2020 Paul Cook
2017 to 2020 Paul Cook
2020 John Sheridan
2020 to 2022 Leam Richardson
2022 to 2023 Kolo Toure
2023 to Present Shaun Maloney